NFF Corrigan-Faircloth

Contact Us

Greensboro Sports Commission
2411 W. Gate City Blvd.
Greensboro, NC 27403


The Corrigan/Faircloth Chapter of the National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Hall of Fame was established in 1991 by local football enthusiasts. The chapter is one of approximately 120 nationwide in 46 states with over 100,000 members. The NFF is a non-profit organization founded in 1947 by General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army Black Knights football coach Earl “Red” Blaik and journalist Grantland Rice.  Its mission is to promote and develop amateur American football on all levels throughout the United States and to cultivate leadership, sportsmanship, enthusiasm for competition, and the drive for academic excellence among America's youth.

The specific purpose of the Corrigan/Faircloth Chapter is to promote amateur football in the three county Triad area of North Carolina (Alamance, Forsyth and Guilford counties) primarily through the establishment of a collegiate scholarship program for graduating Triad area high school football players. These scholarships are awarded to the players who have distinguished themselves athletically and academically and are highly involved in school and community activities. This financial support is intended as an incentive for the extension of their educational pursuits. Honorees are not required to participate in intercollegiate athletics in college but must be enrolled as full-time students at an accredited college or university.

This chapter of the NFF gets its name from two prominent leaders from the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC), former Commissioner Gene Corrigan and former Assistant Commissioner and Supervisor of Football Officials Bradley Faircloth whose biographies can be found on this site.  Both were champions for amateur athletics and in particular football.

The Corrigan/Faircloth Chapter depends upon the generosity and financial support of corporate and individual sponsors who for the past twenty-six years have enabled the chapter to award $652,750 in scholarships to 619 deserving student athletes. Every high school head football coach in the three-county Triad area is invited to nominate a graduating senior from his team. Recipients are selected based upon a rigorous set of criteria that considers academic excellence, football participation and achievement, and school and community involvement.  A “Celebration Banquet” is held each spring to honor the young men who are selected and to recognized and thank donors who make the annual scholarships possible.

President of the Corrigan-Faircloth Chapter


Herb Goins, a 1969 Duke graduate, served as a high school head football coach for 21 years, coaching at both Northern Durham and T. Wingate Andrews in High Point. He compiled an overall record of 169-73-4, winning State Championships at Andrews in 1976 and 1991. He was the Shrine Bowl Head Coach for North Carolina in 1985 and has also coached in the East-West All-Star game. After leaving coaching, Herb served as Athletic Director for the Durham Public Schools for 3 years and then the Guilford County Schools for 12 years until his retirement in 2008.

Herb previously served as President of the Corrigan/Faircloth Chapter from 2001-2008 and has served as Treasurer of the Chapter since 2008.

He and his wife Lindsay have 3 children and 7 grand children. He and Lindsay currently reside in High Point.


2018 Board Members

Left to Right: John Kirby, George Robinson, Craig Fink, Steve Davis, Pete Shaw, Steve Warren, Linwood Jerald, Leigh Hebbard, Lem Cox, Mike Finn, Kip Johnson, Eric Hart, Kevin Best, Amy Yakola, and Perry Hudspeth (Not Pictured: Herb Goins, Donald Moore Jr., Kim Strable, and Michael Strickland) 

Photos Courtesy of Ariel Perez Photography

Partners and Affiliates